* Alchemy Farmhouse *


Last Night
March 18, 2008, 10:57 am
Filed under: poetry

We buried you by

St. Patrick’s Day moonlight,

one with a shovel

one with a pitchfork,

the flashlight on the ground.

The churchbells next door

rang out at eight as we began,

and I cried because they were the last

of the day that was your last.

In each and every armful of earth

more grief seeped out

more grief built up–

as if the release signaled the need

to manufacture more.

I could hear the water in the pond

–it was the first time I had ever noticed it from that spot.

I looked to be sure you

would face the moon–

I knew it would move,

but I wanted you where it was tonight,

when I layed down with you

under a blanket

under your tree

under our March sky,

bloody in the truck bed.

We buried you tonight,

by three-quarter moonlight.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

