* Alchemy Farmhouse *


Hummingbirds & 9 lbs. of squash…
July 25, 2008, 10:13 pm
Filed under: Alchemy Farmhouse
a quick snap of the fast little dude

a quick snap of the fast little dude

So I have always wanted a hummingbird feeder for our yard, ever since my sister had a hummingbird visitor she nicknamed ‘Charley’ at her California home. So I got one a few weeks ago, and was really surprised that they started coming so quickly and abundantly. Hardly a day goes by that we don’t see one, if not 2 or 3. Feeders are easy to find in the store and making the nectar is a cinch. Boil one part sugar to 4 parts water, and store any unused portions in the fridge for up to 2 weeks. Also, keep your feeder clean and wash it with hot, NOT SOAPY water each time you refill. Here is a great resource for all types of hummingbird info, including species migration maps, areas they populate, feeder tips and a photo gallery. I also learned here that food coloring is a possible carcinogen for birds, (as well as humans, I guess I already knew), so I apologize, and will not be using it any longer in my mixture. But the picture was exciting, as I finally captured it, so I thought I’d share. Enjoy your own birds!

Black eel zucchini

After all this crazy rain the past few days, the zucchini were out of control–even more so than usual! So I went out & picked this morning and decided to shred it all and freeze it for later use. This is a great way to preserve it without compromising taste or health benefits–no pickling or cooking needed and it tastes great as a fiber addition to spaghetti sauce or cookies! It also gets it off the counter, as these ‘baseball bats’ tend to congregate quickly during July & August. It’s worth the work now for great *local* zucchini in the wintertime!

9 lbs. just from today! I was overzealous at planting time...

9 lbs. just from today! I was overzealous at planting time...

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

