* Alchemy Farmhouse *


Morning[glory] and jamming till the jam is through…
July 25, 2008, 9:58 am
Filed under: Alchemy Farmhouse
morning sun through Grandpa Ott's morning glories

morning sun through Grandpa Ott's morning glories

Good morning friends! What a great day that’s beginning here-temperatures only in the 60’s and the sky so clear and blue. What a treat to wake up to a cooler day with no humidity! It’s the perfect day for doing some mid-summer planting of short season crops. Today I will weed some fresh areas of the garden and put in some chioggia beets and maybe more corn so we can have a second harvest. Last night I made a corn and bean salsa and kept the husks to make tamales today! My friend Liz & I had the most wonderful tamales from Block Factory Tamales of Germantown, NY @ the Woodstock Farm Festival a few weeks ago. Now it’s my goal to create some of my own. I’ll keep you posted on that, and share some planting pictures later on.

Now, here are finally some jamming pictures (thanks Jacqui!). These are from the cherry preserves I made about 3 weeks ago–so beautiful and red! I will be making a fresh batch of blueberry jam some time in the next week or so and will do a more in-depth instructional then so that you can try to make your own. Until then, whet your taste buds for some mountain jam with these!

Hand-pitting beautiful Bing cherries

Hand-pitting beautiful Bing cherries

everything goes in the pot!

everything goes in the pot!

I always want to stick my face in it, or dye some clothes or something--what a color! (I already know, I'm a wacko)

I always want to stick my face in it, or dye some clothes or something--what a color! (I already know, I'm a wacko)

I still don't understand all the screts, but about 30 minutes later--it worked! Alchemy at its best!

I still don't understand all the screts, but about 30 minutes later--it worked! Alchemy at its best!

And finally, a sad little shout-out to my favorite Alchemy Farm-Dog Utah, who cut his leg the other night and had to have stitches. He is doing fine and running all over like his usual maniac self, but he looks so goofy! Welcome home Mr. U!

space dog ready for take-off

space dog ready for take-off

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

