* Alchemy Farmhouse *


5 lb. squash quiche(s)
July 29, 2008, 9:50 am
Filed under: Alchemy Farmhouse
18 inches of Romanesco monster--it made all 4 quiches and is still leftover in the fridge!

18 inches of Romanesco monster--it made all 4 quiches and is still leftover in the fridge!

Does ‘quiche’ get an ‘s’ on the end when it is plural, or is it like ‘deer’? I think these quiche might need an ‘s’ for seriously squashy, because I made all four of them with the same mammoth Romanesco zucchini! So as promised yesterday, this morning I am talking quiche, which was my all-day project. After picking the giant, I thought I ought to find a new way to get rid of all these things. I love making quiche and usually do pretty often in the colder months, with broccoli. However, I figured what better way to get rid of the squash than by making quiche now, and then just have to reheat in a few months when the hustle-and-bustle of the high school keep me crazy? Perfect. So thanks to Christine, who provided me with her mom’s recipe last year that I have doctored and come to love. And also to Andrea, because her mom’s zucchini quiche was the first I ever liked.  Yay for quiche, one of the strangest ‘Q’ words out there, but a lovely creation in a pie plate!

Christine’s Mom’s Quiche

3 cups chopped veggies (I usually put more depending on how large I cut them–use your judgment to make up for ‘lost space’ the air takes up in the measuring cup. Broccoli & Zukes are my favorites.

half-cup veggie oil (if anyone makes a substitution here, I’d love to know!)

half an onion, chopped (don’t skimp! much of your flavor comes in here!)

1 cup flour

sprinkle baking soda, maybe 2-3 teaspoons

lots of garlic– use fresh chopped or powdered. i think a good powder like Simply Organic lends a more consistent flavor throughout

salt & pepper

parsley

4 eggs

half -cup of cheese (I usually use shredded cheddar)

a good dose of grated Parmesan

Mix all ingredients, put into buttered pie plate and bake for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. It looks wet and ugly going in, but so perfect and golden coming out.

this beauty is now in the freezer waiting for a busy night

this beauty is now in the freezer waiting for a busy night

If anyone tries this out, don’t be shy–let us know! Happy quiching:)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ooooo these looks so yummy! I will have to try this recipe.
Have you ever tried making zucchini bread? I’ve always wanted to. Happy eating!

Comment by Marisa

did i ever mention how awesome those zucchini cookies were? i made some peach/blueberry crisp today. so yummy, just needs ice cream! i also gave you a shout out on by blog….
miss u!

Comment by Liz




Leave a Reply

